Defeater announce self-titled album, drop first single 'Mother's Sons'

March 5, 2019

Massachusetts hardcore band Defeater announced their new self-titled album. 'Defeater' will be released May 10 on Epitaph. This is Defeater’s fifth full-length release and their first in 4 years. The first new single, 'Mothers’ Sons' features blistering guitars that take the song into something chaotic and beautiful.

'Defeater' was produced with Will Yip (Quicksand, La Dispute, Blacklisted, Ms. Lauryn Hill) whose enthusiasm and talent pushed the songs to their fullest potential. The album showcases the band at their most devastating and sonically arresting to date. It is as pummeling as it is atmospheric.


Yet it’s been a long journey to where the band is now. Years of touring took their toll on the friends that make up the current lineup of Derek Archambault (vocals), Jake Woodruff (guitar), Adam Crowe (guitar), Mike Poulin (bass) and Joe Longobardi (drums). Health, substance abuse issues, and ejecting a longtime member had made a touring hiatus necessary.  After a few months at home, working and decompressing, the fire to write a new record caught everyone in a major way.

The result of time off and the band’s renewed energy, Defeater has created their most organic batch of songs yet. And in Defeater fashion, the instrumentation is complimented by a narrative approach. Archambault explores his own "Glass family" (an homage to the J.D. Salinger characters) from new perspectives.




01. The Worst Of Fates
02. List & Heel
03. Atheists In Foxholes
04. Mothers' Sons
05. Desperate
06. All Roads
07. Stale Smoke
08. Dealer / Debtor
09. No Guilt
10. Hourglass
11. No Man Born Evil


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload


Just two enthusiast trying to bring you a daily dose of EXTREME sports, music, street ART and all other interesting shit.

  • facebook_circle-512
  • Email-Sig-Icon-Instagram
  • twitter-icon

© FLD Magazine, 2017