You Know The Drill announce 'Selfhood', release video single 'Snake Eyes'

April 23, 2018

Pop-Punks You Know The Drill are pleased to announce details of their forthcoming sophomore EP. The 5 tracker ‘Selfhood’ will see release via Scylla Records on 22nd June 2018, with vocalist Benji Yapp saying: “Selfhood is a word which describes the quality that makes up a person and just being aware and proud of who you are, which really resonated with us as we wrote this EP. We tried not let ourselves be limited by the “pop-punk” label and write without worrying what people were going to think, which definitely ended up benefitting the record.” Explaining the concept behind the artwork, Yapp states: “The main focal point, the dandelion, is just there looking all bright and pretty, but then there’s the lawnmower approaching in the background, teasing the impending doom to come. The brightness directly contrasts with the dark tale being told, reinforcing our key message:  standing tall and proud, facing adversity head on and taking pride in being.”

A first taste of ‘Selfhood’ has also been unveiled in the form of single ‘Snake Eyes,’ which premiered on the Radio 1 Rock Show last night. The track features guest vocals from Joey Fleming of In Her Own Words. The first song written for the EP, Yapp says “initially we intended it to be a standalone single, but when we started writing we just wanted to keep on going and make it an EP! It’s a song about realising how toxic your relationship with someone actually is and finding the strength to move on from it, realising your worth. Due to the darker vibes, the track reminded us of In Her Own Words, so I suppose it’s why Joey Fleming fits so well on the guest vocal section.” To complement the darker lyrics, the video was shot in a black dance studio and features snakes and flickering TV screens, with Yapp revealing: “The idea to have the TVs on set came from wanting to include Joey in the video for his spot, so luckily we managed to shoot him whilst IHOW were on tour in the UK. All the other footage you see on the TV screens we shot our selves on our phones, we just wanted it to look as eerie and creepy as possible.”
Completed by Luke Astley on guitar and vocals, Damo Darby on bass and Brad Potter on drums, the quartet followed-up 2016’s debut EP ‘Losing Streak’ with plenty of touring, including their first UK headliner and a Slam Dunk festival slot. When it came to ‘Selfhood,’ the band opted to work with a fine array: ROAM’s Alex Adam for pre-production; recording between Nightcrawl Studio with Richard Dack and George Daly at The Ranch; mixing by Seb Barlow at Celestial; mastering by Grant Berry at Fader. The EP sees Astley supporting Yapp on vocals for the first time, bringing a new dynamic and complementing their new found maturity. A must for fans of ROAM, State Champs and New Found Glory, the band declare: “Selfhood has a little more direction, but at the same time it varies in sound more between songs. This EP feels like the first time we have properly found our sound and felt happy with who we are as a band. This record fills us with confidence that we can do anything we try and we hope everyone else feels the same way when they hear it.” 





'Selfhood' track listing:


1. Overcast 
2. Homesick
3. Suspect
4. Blossom
5. Snake Eyes (feat. Joey Fleming of In Her Own Words)


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload


Just two enthusiast trying to bring you a daily dose of EXTREME sports, music, street ART and all other interesting shit.

  • facebook_circle-512
  • Email-Sig-Icon-Instagram
  • twitter-icon

© FLD Magazine, 2017