Layover back with a new single, EP on the way

March 6, 2018

Birmingham emo punks Layover have today revealed that they will release EP ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ via Fox Records on 4th May 2018. The announcement formally marks their return, having gone on hiatus in 2016. Writing for the first time again in 2017, their initial composition was the inspiration for the title, with vocalist Luke Rainsford revealing: “It’s the track that we believe has the strongest message and one we feel a lot of different people can relate to across a wide range of situations.”

The song in question is ‘Slumber,’ which has been made available to stream, with Rainsford also commenting: “I feel like the emotion and passion that can be heard throughout this song will draw anybody in to keep listening. It is also the direction we wish to continue to take the band in the future.” A thoughtful photograph taken in the Peak District by Nathan Heffernan forms the release’s artwork, inspired by one the EP’s leading lyrics – “who would ever guess that I would end up sentimental?”
Completed by Dominic Cattell on guitar, Elliot Wallett on bass and Brad Fisher on drums, this 2018 version of Layover can be considered a clean slate. Founded in 2014 and previously releasing “very DIY” material that is misaligned with their renewed energy and considered aesthetic, exRainsfordplains: “The sound of our old music does not represent us, and we have matured as musicians and people since then. We come with a new direction to start in a genre we are more passionate about.” It is therefore a happy coincide that their Bukowski derived name is still suited: Layover by definition is a rest or a wait before a further stage in a journey. We felt this was relevant to the stage we were all at in our lives,” Rainsford recalls.
Making their way to the studio for the first time, the quartet opted to work with Ian Sadler at Emeline Studios, recollecting: “We feel we clicked really well with him, and had one of the best weeks of our lives. He instantly got on board with the sound and helped us organize and perfect our parts.” Wrapped up with mastering by Grant Berry at Fader, ‘Your Laughter Never Leaves’ is a gritty, witty and pretty 5 tracks of emo with a pop punk heart. With the band citing influences such as Tiny Moving Parts, Tigers Jaw and The Wonder Years, they address topics of mental health and loss, sensitively and sincerely. In their own words: “We are bringing a sound that is predominantly based within the American market. Our honesty and intense live shows bring a refreshing atmosphere that we feel sets us apart, but ultimately we are just 4 close friends trying to share our music.”


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload

Just two enthusiast trying to bring you a daily dose of EXTREME sports, music, street ART and all other interesting shit.

  • facebook_circle-512
  • Email-Sig-Icon-Instagram
  • twitter-icon


© FLD Magazine, 2017